A map of childhood

ornakHere is an old map of Koscieliska valley in Tatra mountains. I had some tears in my eyes looking at my daughter in front of it. When I was five it has already been there, and I loved watching it, learning names of mountains drawn on it. Even when my own mum was a child, and used to arrive to this refuge wit a key because it was closed all the time, the map has already been there. Beautiful feeling. I remember myself watching dense forests on the map, imagining wild animals walking in it’s shadow. I recall the high mountains recognised for the first time, big and inaccessible. First excursions into the high mountains, too far, too hard, too wild; now they are just a walk, then they were The Adventure. They still are – for my daughter.

Leave a Reply

